Rest — Matthew 11:28-30

Back in college, Jeff and I enjoyed doing skits together. One of our favorites was called the Broad Jump (originally by Paul and Nicole Johnson). In it, the athlete was always striving to meet new goals in the long jump. She was working to be good enough, to be accomplished enough, to be pleasing enough.   With every new accomplishment, her coach acknowledged her good work but greatly minimized her achievement and then pushed more. The athlete exhausted herself.

The skit ended with Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

In The Message translation it reads like this:
“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Of course this skit is an analogy for our lives. We tend to exhaust ourselves with trying to be a good enough wife or mom or homeschooler or friend or coach or Christian or … Okay that’s just my list. But you probably have one too.

I have found myself tired and weary. I’ve been picking myself up by my bootstraps over and over again struggling to do what I’m supposed to be doing and not acknowledging (at least not fully applying) the grace and love that my Jesus offers.

This morning I woke up thinking about the rest found in Jesus. I thought about Mary and Martha. I thought about this scripture and this skit. God used it to remind me of his promise.

Leave a Reply

