What about the younger kids? Well, they are 13, 11, and 9. They get to choose some, but much less. They have a basic daily screen time allowance. They have to do the assignments I give. My 13 and 11 year olds are beginning to get some freedom. When I make the week’s plans, I schedule math, science, and social studies. Then I ask them what they want to do for writing this week and, within reason, that becomes their assignments. They like to write scripts and short stories, secret code letters, and Harry Potter books right now. I think that is a fine way to practice writing. I ask them which delights they want to pursue this week. Saxophone, drums, tumbling, dance, scouts, puppet shows, wood whittling, fort building and the like make the list. I add that to their schooling. I ask them which books they are currently reading and add those to the list. The end product is a plan that they contributed to and they are excited to pursue. It is a delight directed education with the guidance appropriate for their ages.

Leave a Reply

