Delight Directed Resources

I did not become a delight directed “teacher” over night. I am a trained school teacher. But after teaching my first daughter informally through puzzles, games, library trips, and the like and then sending her to public kindergarten, the difference in learning methods became hugely apparent to me. When I brought her home mid year from kindergarten, we still did some standard workbook stuff mixed in with a lot more play. It took a few years to work through my fears and move our family from traditional schooling to delight directed learning. Here are a few resources I have used over those years and still today.

https://simplycharlottemason.com/ is the site that I used for direction and basic curriculum when we first dropped textbooks.  It introduced me to the natural learning styles that Charlotte Mason so strongly believed in. Back then, SCM didn’t have a book store and its own curriculum like it does now. It was mostly a list of books that I took with me to my library. I learned to trust living books and gentle ways as I followed their suggestions. I am ever so thankful that I found this site.

http://www.walkingbytheway.com/blog/delight-directed-learning/  is a direct link to a 10 part series geared toward younger (less than high school) kids about delight directed learning. Ami has written great articles and posted great resources that she has used for her kids for years, but I especially like her definition of learning in this series.

http://joyfullyrejoycing.com/ is all about Christians and unschooling. It was an encouragement to me in learning what each of my kids was made to be. There is some really good food for thought here.

http://www.ignitethefire.com/ is the site that introduced me to delight directed schooling. Terri Camp calls it unschooling, but I would call what she describes more of a delight directed learning. She advocates whole child education and notebooking. I actually love this site. A lot.

There you have it. I hope some of these resources encourage you!

Leave a Reply

