2 Timothy 1:7

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

Let’s break this down in how it fits a lifestyle of homeschooling.

Fear. That’s where I’ve lately been residing. Driven by fear like a dear in headlights. Afraid to move forward. Afraid to try. What if the kids don’t listen? What if they don’t respond? What if they think my hard planned lessons are stupid? What if they still don’t learn it? What if I’m failing them? What if other moms think I’m too relaxed and not teaching enough? What if I don’t fit in to the group?

Timidity. Yep. That too. Blinded by fear and unwilling to step up and share what I know What if my words are all jumbled when I speak? What if I’m doing this all wrong? Blinded by fear and unwilling to step up and share what I know.

This is not what God wants. For God has not given me a spirit of fear and timidity.
Instead, power, love, and self control.

Power. God empowers me to do what he called me to.

Love. God’s love shows in my actions when I keep my eyes on Him. This love should drive my interactions with my children and other moms.

Self control. It is a fruit of the spirit that enables me to be about the business that God has set before me. That business is primarily raising, educating, mentoring, and loving my children. It is also to mentor younger moms who are now walking the path I’ve walked for the past 11 years.

This is where I need to live daily. I’ll admit I struggle with it. I’m so incredibly glad God’s mercies are new every morning. So today, I get up and try again.

I encourage you to do the same.

Leave a Reply

