Lemonade

I sit by my living room window enjoying the breeze and watching over Emily. She is in the kitchen (in plain view) and wants lemonade. I could get up and make it for her. But instead I give her directions and allow her to make a gallon of lemonade by herself.

As I watch her, I notice that she looks at home in the kitchen. Her eyes sparkle and her confidence shows. She enjoys the process of  tasting the lemonade at each stage. I ask her if she likes working in the kitchen. She says “Sometimes.”  I don’t push the issue. I just smile and take it in. A new skill has been added to her life. An area of delight shows and encourages her to do more.

 

Leave a Reply

