Real Learning

It is easy to get really stuck in the traditional way of learning, but really I have been thinking that I love to spend time in the garden discovering all sorts of things about my plants and how they grow and by the ditch filled with snails, fish, algae, etc. But I would not be the least bit interested in learning about these from a book. Why should I force my kids to learn everything only from books? Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE books. Great books are a huge part of our curriculum. But we sometimes get so wrapped up trying to complete assignments in them, that we miss the joy of learning in real settings. I have learned alongside my kids this year lots about Botany and Marine Biology, but the only books we have read on the topics have been opened because we had a question born from the experience of observing them first hand. May more of our learning experiences follow this idea every day!

One response to “Real Learning

  1. You are absolutely correct! Books do have their place in a learning environment, but how much more our children learn by DOING!

    I guess it would be kind of like cooking. Read all the cookbooks you want, but you won’t actually learn *how* to cook unless you get in the kitchen and do some cooking! Well, that, and you wouldn’t have any tasty treats in the house! 😀

Leave a Reply

