Superficial Living

Before we started homeschooling our kids, my husband and I would point out all the educational opportunities around us that we would use.  How quickly that idea was replaced with following a text book or at least a set curriculum.  And then came the cycle where we gave up and started reading books for a while and then went back to the curriculum.  I have even written my own curriculum for a while in an effort to tailor it just right for my kids.  All these things have worked temporarily, but at the end of the day we are still thinking there must be more to life than this.  The kids seem less than fulfilled. I am less than fulfilled.  I think what I am feeling is that we are living superficially… not real life. The decision was made that we would give up the prepared lessons, LIVE life for the week, and see what happens.  The focus is on living with purpose.  At the end of the week, I will be attending a Ladies’ retreat for some good reflection time. I look forward to the results.

2 responses to “Superficial Living

  1. I agree with you on so many levels! We did this a couple of weeks ago and I was so surprised at how many learning opportunities came up that I could count. My writing phobic daughter even made a book and wrote a story on her own that week. It was adorable and pretty well written. Let me know how it goes. Blessings.

  2. Going on my 13th year of homeschooling, I understand this cycle completely. I've done it all, as far as styles and methods.

    However, being in the last year with my 17 year old about to graduate, I will give you a little reflection: it's all about balance!

    I got started on a shaky foundation by someone who said (for kindergarten) to pick and choose my materials. That led to 12 years of not being sure of what I had actually covered and trying different companies, which means different methods. Looking back now, I wish I would have stuck with one packaged curriculum throughout the years. I think my graduate would have been much more prepared.

    But the balance part – life has been a great teacher to my kids. They are so much more "life" smart than their ps friends. My kids know politics, have traveled 10 times more than those sitting in a classroom all day, every day, and have more common sense. This comes from living life in the "real world" instead of behind a desk, being spoon fed for 12 years.

    So what I'm saying is that for the academics -it's good to be structured, but for life – make sure you get plenty of that too!

    Hope some of this makes sense!

    Have a great week!

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

