Stepping Back

So this is it.  This is the week that I am going to step back and see what my 2 older kids will do.  I wrote out their weeks’ schedule the same as I normally do for myself. I let them decide what lessons to do on which days. They are reading their own books, doing their own lessons with minimal help from me. I have read to them and sat next to them for so long now.  It is time. Today is the first day.  So far it is going well.  It is hard for me to stand back and watch instead of doing so much for them.  I still have 2 younger girls to help, and they probably need more teaching than I had been able to give them before.  This will be a transition for all of us, but hopefully will come with good results.  I am believing that it will 🙂

2 responses to “Stepping Back

  1. I think that is a great idea. One on one help is a great aspect of homeschooling but I think it is easy to "help" too much. I know I do. Let me know how it all goes. Blessings.

  2. Joanna Calderwood has a great philosophy about teaching your kids to be independent learners. She has a website (she makes homeschool planners).

    I have been doing this for the past few years with my boys (16 and 10). It frees me up to be the mom, wife, cook, maid, etc. while they are learning.

    I still do some history reading and devotions with my 10 year old, but he does SOS too. We do math and spelling in workbook form (Bob Jones). I gave him the option of doing 2 subjects in SOS next year and he chose Bible and Science. The rest we will do in Bob Jones, which uses text and workbook. He also hates to write, but we really need to get it going, so that's why I will be limiting the SOS next year.

    I added you as a friend:)
    Come visit me sometime!

Leave a Reply

