Aspects of writing

November is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).   The goal is 50,000 words.  My husband will probably meet this goal.  I will probably write about 2,000 words.  I am okay with this.  To me, it is just motivation to put my ideas to paper.  I don’t have much time to work with, but am enjoying the process anyway.

My 12 year old daughter has always been a terrible speller.  A year ago her spelling was consistent with dyslexia.  She has made much progress.  We did a year of Sequential Spelling and now use prepared dictation.  Her spelling is sill not good but at least it is starting to make sense now.  Progress is a good thing. I see her really trying to spell phonetically now.  Her phonics based reading is starting to show flaws as she reads harder material, so that is something we are working on this year.

My 8 year old son really resists writing all together.  At best I get him to write one sentence a day, and that takes a good 30 minutes between the whining and the actual writing.  His copywork is done with light strokes, and his letters, though legible, are typically formed in reverse (example:  lower case a is drawn from bottom of stick to top and then clockwise around the circle). I have tried correcting his handwriting technique, but this only frustrates him.   His free hand writing is somewhat shaky, hard pressing on the page, all capital letters, and seldom a finger space.  He completely shuts down if I ask him to write a sentence without telling him exactly what to write.  He has never liked coloring, and just this year started drawing a little bit.  He does not like cutting with scissors.  He complains that it is hard.  He gets silly during the assignment time.  He loves the computer and does not mind typing in small quantities.  He loves reading, science, math (only if it is done orally),  building with k-nex.   I really don’t know what to do.  I need to know if he is resisting because it is truly hard or because he just rathers do something else.  I need to know how far to push him and when or if to make accomodations.  Any ideas??

Leave a Reply

