Delegating responsibilities

One home responsibility that I really don’t care for is cooking meals. I always feel like I fall short in making nice meals for my family. There are just so many other things I prefer to do.
I have been praying for wisdom in training my children in life skills. Last night I thought of an idea. I assigned each of my kids a job for the week that I know they already enjoy doing. My oldest daughter is 11. Every meal to her is special. She always wants to decorate the table and put colorful stuff on the food for visual appeal. So I gave her the job of planning the meals for the week, writing out the grocery list and preparing suppers. She has already cooks for the kids often, so this should not be too hard for her. Of course I will be there for the parts she needs help with. She is so excited about the job. She pulled out index cards for each day of the week and started planning the menus. She is taking it so very seriously.
Maybe this will be a help in our family. She loves cooking and presenting good foods. I will let you know how it goes.

One week later:

The week is done, and the kids made it the whole week with their delegated responsibilities.  They really took ownership.  I was so proud of them!
Today I passed out new jobs.  Bethany (11) gets bathrooms.  I hope she decorates some while she has them.  She is our decorator.  Andrew (7) is delighted that he gets to plan the menu this week.  I cannot think of a new job for my 4 and 5 year olds.  Maybe they can keep helping me with washing the clothes.  Oh, and I am going to try to make my own laundry detergent this week.  It looks simple enough.  I hope it works!

Leave a Reply

