Sweet days

Today was library day, and with every library day the same thing unfolds…
We scrap “school work” for the day and head out across town to the library.  After spending an hour or two choosing books, we must leave what has become my favorite place to visit.  Our bags are filled to the rim with great stories.  On the way home each child is fully engrossed in a book of their choosing.  When we return home, we have lunch, some relaxing time, maybe a family bike ride, and dinner.  Toward bedtime, we break out the stories, one for each child to enjoy with dad.  Each book is read and reread, completely savored.  Over the next few days, the books, all 35 of them (between 4 kids),  will be read at least once.  Peter Pan, William Tell, Shakespeare, Dr. Seuss, Magic School Bus… the list goes on.  And I think as I am evaluating the use of our time that THIS is real learning, better than any curriculum I can put in front of them.  Then I wonder why I must spend so much time in “school”.  Why can’t I just let them learn from their books?  I don’t really have an answer to that question, but it is such a sweet feeling watching them delight in all these great books!  These days remind me of the simple life I long to live.

 

5 responses to “Sweet days

  1. Hi Debbie,
    Thanks for the visit and the compliment of my new blog look. My daughter Jordan did it for me. I tell her what I want and then she does it for me. We're not done yet. I still have a bunch of little pictures for her to put up. I did add a new song to my playlist. It could actually be me singing the words to My Elgin.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog to leave a sweet note. I love library days too. We use a curriculum that is mostly great books, come back to chat if you are interested – like library day, every day!

  3. Hi. I am glad you like my scores. Jesus gives me the talent =0) Where do you coach? I want to be a coach when I am older. But I have a long ways to go!

  4. Hi. Thanks for commenting on my daughter's blog. She was so thrilled that you are a gymanstics coach and used to be a gymnast! I have added you to my friends list if you don't mind.

Leave a Reply

